Menu
中文
Close
文中

庄园

简介

英格兰的乡村庄园生活举世闻名。从简·奥斯汀到《唐顿庄园》,再到《旧地重游》。通过文学影视作品,每个人对乡村庄园内的生活图景都有不同的想象。

然而在英格兰,这些并非只是历史——数百所庄园府邸依旧屹立不倒,几百年前修建者的家族后人,现在仍住在里面。它们承载着世代积累下来的奇珍异宝,折射出英格兰巨富贵族的品味变迁。

现在,中国观众将首次有机会在自己的土地上近距离了解并体验英国乡村庄园生活。10座世界上最庄严雄伟的贵族府邸、城堡和宫殿组成的英格兰瑰宝庄园(The Treasure Houses of England)将出借它们最为珍贵的收藏,共同打造这场千载难逢的展览。

展览将揭开英国著名府邸的神秘面纱,陈列庄园的稀世收藏,展现英国贵族生活的前世今生。

伦勃朗、达芬奇、拉斐尔、弗洛伊德和普桑的油画、手绘作品,弗兰德和英格兰挂毯,还有来自法国与英国的家具和银器杰作将一同展出。中国出口瓷器也将与来自法国赛佛尔和德国梅森的名贵瓷器并肩陈列。此外,展品还包括漆盒、金盒与其他珍贵工艺品。

这场展览并非只是艺术展,更重要的是,它讲述了发生在英格兰乡村大宅内的日常生活。因此,除了伟大的艺术作品之外,展品还包括重要的服饰、珠宝、花园雕像、稀有的老爷车、古董猎枪,以及形形色色展示仆人们生活起居的展品。

瑰宝庄园的10栋大宅均建造于几百年前,至今仍归属于原先修建和居住的家族。这些家族的后代依旧居住在祖辈的府邸中,打理古老的庄园,在商海中叱咤风云。每年,这些庄园都会迎接来自全球各地的400万探访者。

10座世界上最庄严雄伟的贵族府邸、城堡和宫殿将共同打造这场千载难逢的展览

展览

英格兰瑰宝庄园展览将为参观者讲述有关这些令人陶醉的庄园和世代居住在这里的卓越家族的精彩故事。它既是一段历史传说,也是一部当代贵族生活的编年史。瑰宝庄园并非只是博物馆,而是当代英伦生活生机勃勃的一部分。

展览由介绍瑰宝庄园的10个家族开始。这些世家并非只是贵族巨富,还孕育了众多朝臣、画家、建筑师、奥运会奖牌得主、农业学家和首相,当然也少不了学者、鉴赏家和收藏家。

这些国宝级府邸今天的所有者也像他们的先辈一样,是非常成功的商人与企业家。

展览将向人们展示这些家族所拥有的广阔土地。在他们的精心管理下,庄园成为欣赏美景、休闲娱乐的好去处,至今仍为庄园主人带来丰厚的利润。此次展览融合了现代数字展示与众多首次和公众见面的历史文物,展品均来自庄园主人们的私人收藏。

展览第一部分的结束亮点,是观看者来到停放着尤利(Beaulieu)家族收藏的1923年产劳斯莱斯汽车的大宅前。

展览的主要部分将以一个个房间的形式出现,每个房间都展现了这些府邸大宅中的艺术与社交生活,呈现出建筑内最为华贵的大厅、餐厅、休息厅和卧室,当中摆放着从中世纪至今的家具和绘画。接下来的展出部分是画廊,囊括绘画和雕塑艺术之精华——展品包括来自伦勃朗、加纳莱托和普桑等其他艺术家举世闻名的杰作。

较小的房间是书房和内阁,展出手稿、书籍、文艺复兴时期的绘画、铜像和一些更为个人化的作品。

其他房间还包括育儿室、教堂和枪房。最后一部分展品成规模地展示了仆人们的生活起居 。

虽然餐厅部分确实展出了一个摆满餐具的桌子,也铺着地毯、挂着挂毯、摆放着仆人和就餐者的衣裙,但这些房间并非纯粹历史空间的复制品。相反,“房间”只是一种途径,它诠释了瑰宝庄园中人们的生活方式,以及他们的收藏是如何在日常生活中被享用的。

此次展览的展品十分丰富,人们还可以欣赏到庄园主与家人佩戴的珠宝和头饰、珍贵的古董猎枪、来自布伦海姆宫(Blenheim Palace)华美的威尼斯摇篮、壮观的烛台和银镀金餐具,以及来自德文郡公爵查兹沃茨庄园(Chatsworth)的许多私人当代艺术收藏品。

此次英格兰瑰宝庄园展览共展出超过200件无价珍藏,展品规模之大、范围之广均为同类展出所不能比拟。2018年,世界巡展将正式展开。

团队

  • 主策展人兼首席执行官

    西蒙•瑟利教授

    CBE, PhD, FSA, FRHistS, FRIBA

    主策展人兼首席执行官

    Simon Thurley是英国建筑史界的重要史学家,伦敦历史研究学院高级研究员,格雷沙姆学院建筑环境教授。13年间,他一直是英格兰遗产委员会(English Heritage)的首席执行官。英格兰遗产委员会是一家致力于保护英格兰国家遗产的机构,管理包括巨石阵在内的420个名胜古迹。此前,他曾担任伦敦博物馆(Museum of London)总监。Simon Thurley出版了12本著作,还曾制作多部关于历史建筑的电视节目。

  • 副执行长官

    亚历山德拉•沃尔

    BA, MSc

    副执行长官

    Alexandra Warr是英格兰历史建筑与遗址委员会(Historic England)高级国际政策顾问,负责与包括欧洲委员会、欧盟委员会、联合国教科文组织与国际古迹遗址理事会在内的国际和欧洲机构合作。2007年至2012年间,她曾是“我们的欧洲”(Europa Nostra)委员会成员。Alex在国际文化关系和外交方面有着深厚的经验,并代表英格兰历史建筑与遗址委员会和英国文化媒体和体育部(DCMS)参与了一系列重要的研讨会。2016年12月,她曾作为P2P代表团成员出访中国。

  • 项目策展

    Tori Reeve

    BA, M.Phil, FdA

    项目策展

    2016年之前,Tori Reeve是利兹城堡(Leeds Castle)的总策展人。利兹城堡位于肯特,是瑰宝庄园的组成部分之一。此前,她是威斯敏斯特宫(Palace of Westminster)的室内设计主管,以及英格兰遗产委员会的收藏与特别项目策展人。除了为利兹城堡设计一系列展出项目,Tori还主导了在达尔文故居举办的查尔斯·达尔文展览,以及凯尼尔沃思城堡(Kenilworth castle)的开创性展示项目。

  • 策展顾问

    Rose Kerr

    MA

    策展顾问

    多年来,Rose Kerr一直担任V&A博物馆远东部门主管。目前,她是剑桥大学李约瑟研究所荣誉研究员,也是英中教育基金(Great Britain-China Education Trust)主席、Percival David 爵士中国艺术基金会(Sir Percival David Foundation of Chinese Art)受托人、香港博物馆专家级顾问。2015年,她被授予景德镇荣誉市民称号;她曾参与写作20本关于亚洲艺术的书籍,作品常见于各类期刊杂志。

TREASURE HOUSES ASIA

CHAIRMAN

Mrs Miranda Rock

DIRECTORS

His Grace the Duke of Bedford, Her Grace The Duchess of Bedford, The Earl of Leicester, The Earl of Burlington, Mrs Victoria Howard, Mr Orlando Rock

CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Simon Thurley

COMPANY SECRETARY

Josh Fitch

Treasure Houses Exhibition Asia Limited,
Company Number: 10373420
Registered address: 61 High Street, St Martin’s, Stamford, Lincs, PE9 2LQ

订阅我们的电子通讯
Thank you

Menu
中文
Close
文中

Houses

Introduction

English Country House life is famous the world over – from Jane Austen to Downton Abbey and Brideshead Revisited, everyone has their own idea of what it is like to live in a huge house on a country estate.

The fact is that in England this is not just history – hundreds of great houses still survive, lived in by the same families that built them, hundreds of years ago. They contain the amassed treasures of generations, reflecting the changing tastes of the super-rich aristocracy of England.

Now, for the very first time, it will be possible to understand, and experience, English country houses in China. Ten of the world’s grandest aristocratic houses, castles and palaces – The Treasure Houses – have come together to lend some of their most important and valuable treasures for a once-in-a-lifetime exhibition.

The exhibition draws back the curtain to show life, past and present, in England’s greatest aristocratic homes through the magnificent works of art they contain.

Paintings and drawings by Rembrandt, Raphael, Lucian Freud and Poussin will be shown with Flemish and English tapestries and masterpieces of French and English furniture and silver. Chinese export porcelain will be on show alongside rare Sèvres and Meissen porcelain, lacquer and gold boxes and objets de vertu.

An important feature of the exhibition is that, because it tells the story of everyday life in the great houses of England, it includes, not only great art, but important costume and jewellery, garden statuary, rare historic vehicles, antique sporting guns and a range of exhibits from ‘below stairs’.

The ten great houses in the Treasure Houses partnership were founded hundreds of years ago but remain in the ownership of the same families today. These families, still live in their ancestral homes, farm their estates and run successful businesses. Each year, together, the Treasure Houses welcome 4 million visitors from all over the world.

“Ten of the world’s greatest aristocratic houses, castles and palaces have come together for a once-in-a-lifetime exhibition.”

Exhibition

The Treasure Houses of England Exhibition sets out to tell a remarkable story, about amazing places lived in by extraordinary families. It is both an historical tale and a chronicle of contemporary aristocratic life; for these are not just museums, the Treasure Houses are a thriving part of contemporary British life.

It opens by introducing the families of the ten Treasure Houses. These dynasties were not just super-rich aristocrats but produced courtiers,  painters, architects, Olympic medal-winning athletes, agriculturalists, Prime Ministers and, of course, scholars, connoisseurs and collectors.

Today the owners are both custodians of great national treasures but also, like their forebears, hugely successful businessmen and entrepreneurs.

The show introduces the vast landscapes owned by the families and managed for beauty, recreation and profit. These are still the economic engines of the great estates and exhibits mix contemporary digital realisations with historical artefacts including many objects never before seen, from the owners’ private collections and archives.

These introductory sections culminate with the exhibition-goer’s ‘arrival’ at a great house with a 1923 Rolls Royce car from the collection at Beaulieu.

The main part of the exhibition is arranged in a series of ‘rooms’ each covering the art and social life of the great houses. The great hall, the dining room, the drawing room and the bedroom are the great state spaces, filled with furniture and paintings dating from the middle ages to the present day. The gallery comes next, and contains the cream of the paintings and sculpture – with world famous master-works from Rembrandt, Canaletto and Poussin amongst many others.

Smaller rooms, the library and cabinet, contain manuscripts, books, Renaissance drawings and bronzes and more intimate works of art.

Other rooms include the nursery, chapel and gun room and the show ends with a large section showing unique treasures from ‘below stairs’, the engine-rooms of the great houses.

The rooms are not reconstructions of historical spaces, although the dining room section does include a complete fully-laid table with carpets, tapestries and dress worn by both the servants and the diners. Instead the ‘rooms’ are a way of explaining how people lived in the Treasure Houses and how their collections were used and enjoyed on a daily basis.

The range of exhibits is truly comprehensive and covers jewels and tiaras worn by the owners and their families, valuable antique firearms used for sport, the extraordinary Venetian state cradle from Blenheim Palace, spectacular candelabra and silver-gilt table wares, and many items from the Duke of Devonshire’s personal collection of contemporary art from Chatsworth.

In all, the Treasure Houses of England Exhibition contains over 200 priceless items, the most ambitious and comprehensive exhibition of its type ever assembled. The exhibition will be travelling to China in the Summer of 2018. Venues and opening dates will be announced in January 2018.

Team

  • Chief CURATOR AND CHIEF Executive

    Professor Simon Thurley

    CBE, PhD, FSA, FRHistS, FRIBA

    Chief CURATOR AND CHIEF Executive

    Simon Thurley is a leading historian of English architecture, a Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of Historical Research in London and Gresham Professor of the Built Environment. For 13 years he was chief executive of English Heritage, the national heritage agency responsible for heritage protection and the management of England’s National Heritage Collection of 420 sites and monuments including Stonehenge. Before that he was director of the Museum of London. He has written twelve books and made many television programmes about historic buildings.

  • Deputy Chief Executive

    Alexandra Warr

    BA, MSc

    Deputy Chief Executive

    Alexandra Warr is a Senior Advisor on international policy at Historic England. In this role she works with International and European bodies such as the Council of Europe, the European Commission, UNESCO, ICOMOS. She was a Council member of Europa Nostra 2007-­‐2012. Alex has a huge experience in international cultural relations and diplomacy and represents Historic England and DCMS on a number of important committees. She was part of the P2P delegation to China in December 2016.

  • Project Curator

    Tori Reeve

    BA, M.Phil, FdA

    Project Curator

    Until 2016 Tori Reeve was Chief Curator at Leeds Castle, Kent one of the Treasure Houses of England. Before that she was the Principal of Interior Design and Furnishing at the Palace of Westminster and Curator of Collections and Special projects at English Heritage. As well as masterminding new displays at Leeds Castle Tori led the major Charles Darwin Exhibition at Down House and a ground-breaking presentation project at Kenilworth castle.

  • Consulting Conservator

    Claire Fry

    Consulting Conservator

    Claire worked for over thirteen years as the Senior Collections Conservator at English Heritage. During this time she was involved with many projects and exhibitions, including the new Visitor Centre at Stonehenge. Since setting up Spencer & Fry in 2015 Claire has carried out work for the National Trust, English Heritage, private houses and a range of museums including the British Museum. An accredited conservator she is also an assessor and mentor for the Institute of Conservation accreditation scheme. Since 2016 she has served on the Fabric Advisory Committee for Leicester Cathedral.

  • Consultant Translator

    Yunzhen Yang

    BA, MA

    Consultant Translator

    Yunzhen is a native Mandarin speaker, passionate about supporting international cultural communication and exchange. She has supported the analysis of the opportunities for UK museum sector collaboration with China on behalf of the FCO and DIT, as well as opportunities for the Canadian creative businesses in China on behalf of the Consulate General of Canada. Prior to joining the BOP Shanghai office, Yunzhen worked on the strategy and planning of cultural industry clusters and historic cultural tourism destinations.

  • Consultant

    Lucy Minyo

    BA, MA

    Consultant

    Lucy is a specialist cultural and creative sector consultant, advising on overall sector strategy and policy. Her focus is on international projects, having assessed opportunities for international trade and collaboration in the museum, performing arts, built heritage and design sectors. Lucy is passionate about inspiring, facilitating and supporting cultural and creative sector collaboration between China and the UK. She studied and worked in China for three years and currently leads on China related work at the London office of BOP Consulting.

  • Project Manager / Registrar

    Chezzy Brownen 

    Project Manager / Registrar

    Chezzy is an experienced museum Registrar and exhibitions Project Manager working for museums, art galleries and country house collections. She has worked for the National Trust, where she was Registrar for over 300 houses across the UK, as well as Ashmolean Museum in Oxford and the Barber Institute of Fine Arts in Birmingham. More recently, she was the Consultant Registrar for Harewood House Trust on a museum Accreditation project. Chezzy was previously the Museum Development Officer for Bath and North East Somerset representing 38 museum and heritage organisations. In addition, she worked on a project to provide recommendations for Bath in response to a UNESCO World Heritage Site report on the city.

  • Administration

    Kate Francis

    PGC

    Administration

    Kate is an experienced administrator and PA with a background in project management, HR and marketing in the UK public and creative sectors.

Treasure Houses Asia

CHAIRMAN

Mrs Miranda Rock

DIRECTORS

His Grace the Duke of Bedford, Her Grace The Duchess of Bedford, The Earl of Leicester, The Earl of Burlington, Mrs Victoria Howard, Mr Orlando Rock

CHIEF EXECUTIVE

Simon Thurley

COMPANY SECRETARY

Josh Fitch

Treasure Houses Exhibition Asia Limited,
Company Number: 10373420
Registered address: 61 High Street, St Martin’s, Stamford, Lincs, PE9 2LQ

Subscribe to our newsletter
Thank you